Millions of Facebook users have been infected after clicking on a malicious link that claims to hold a interesting video. The users receive an message in their message box or their timeline, and the message states that an interesting video can be viewed once the attached link has been provided.
The link which is provided often ends with video.html, and once it is clicked, the user will be redirected to an malicious website that will hold online revenue generation techniques and malicious advertisement.
In some cases the malicious link would download and install an rogue application on the Facebook acccount. This rogue application would allow the operators of the rogue application to control the infected Facebook account.
This means that they could post pictures, messages,links and videos directly to your Facebook account.
If you think that you have been compromised, you can use this guide to remove any unwanted applications.